Writing isn’t always so easy

It’s never easy to write anything. It doesn’t matter if you write a store for yourself or if it’s an essay you have to hand in for one l a class, nothing ever really comes easy. But there is something about putting your words on paper  – or online – that ca sometimes makes us feel the best. When i was younger, I would always start new stories. I’ve always felt like I’ve been unable to finish a story or stick to one long enough to get close to finishing one. This year however, I want to actually stay with one story and just keep on going until I have finished it. I’m not doing it for anyone but myself. I feel like I have to prove to myself that I can do anything I put my mind to and stick with it.

So far I haven’t had too much trouble writing this blog, but I have been struggling with trying to find things to write about or I’ll have trouble getting started on a post – or a story or any type of writing for that matter. I figure I’m probably not the only one out there who’s got trouble with things like so I thought you might want to hear about what I do when I have trouble with things.

Feel free to comment down below if you want me to find tips or things that might help you if the tips I am about to give you don’t seem quite the right thing.

  • How to fight “Writer’s Block”:

I am sure this has happened to all of us at some point. You know that moment where you have to get started, but absolutely nothing comes. Your mind is completely blank and ideas seem to have fled your head in a hurry leaving being them nothing but dust and silence. Yeah, don’t worry about it, it happens to the best of us. One of the first things I try in order to get the ideas flowing back is to grab an empty page/piece of paper and I write anything and everything that comes to mind even if it has nothing to do with what I should be writing about. I just write whatever you feel like writing. Usually, this is enough to get me back on track and start writing what I am supposed to be writing about. There are meany ways to fight that, but this is the one that really works for me.

  • Coming up with a creative title:

Now, I’m not saying my titles are are clever or creative. I’ll admit, I struggle all the time to give good title to anything I write. Sometimes I give up easily and go for the best that I can think of. One of the things that does help me come up with a good title is to mention something that is in the text, something that interesting that might catch my own eye. Try not to give away too much in your title. You want people to be intrigued, interested, but not to only have to read your title to know what all of your text is about. I know it can be easy to give too much away in your title. Go for a short title instead or a long one. If your title is too long, people won’t feel like reading your article and if your title is long, chances are you are giving a bit too much info and are not making your readers curious to know more.

  • Finding good character names:

Once again, I am far from being an expert when it comes to naming things. The names in my stories depend on the type of story I am writing. If I am writing a fantasy story, then I’ll make sure to find usual names, perhaps with a Celtic origin. If I am going for a romantic, realistic type of story, I’ll go for more regular every day names. I might even go for short names or “nicknames” like Gaby or Leslie. So basically, I don’t really think you can go wrong with names. The important part is that you like the names for your characters.

  • Coming up with a good storyline:

In my opinion, there can’t be such a thing as a bad storyline, but then again I’m no expert. I’m not denying the fact that certain type of stories might attract more attention then others simply because it’s in fashion, but that shouldn’t mean you should the same thing. Be original. I think that’s the mot important part is that you make sure not to simply be copying someone exact words. Write this yourself in your own words, but also try to come up with something new, maybe something different. Personally, I always look for books or stories with plots that I’ve never read before. Make it interesting. Try to make it as interesting as you possibly can. Once again, it’s not an easy task, but if you add a little something here and there like an unexpected twist or an element of surprise somewhere, it might be just what your reader needs to stay interested in your story. Don’t overdo it. It can be easy to get carried away when writing so you have to watch out with overdoing things. A story that’s too pacted in with things will lose the interest of your reader fairely quickly.

  • Make sure your characters don’t go MarySue:

Once more, it is very easy to have many characters with similar personalities, but it’s important to also make sure they are not the exact same characters. Having different names is not enough to differenciate two characters, you have to give them different interest and personalities. I’m not saying they can’t have anything in common, just that you need to watch out so they are not too much alike.

So that’s all the things that I can think of at the moment. When it comes to things I struggle with in stories, this about the jist of it. If you have trouble with something I have not mentioned in here, feel free to comment down below and I will do my best to try and help you out with it. IIf you have any ideas for anythings you’d like to see me write about, once again please let me know if a comment below and I will try top make you happy and do that if I can.  Don’t forget to give this a thumbs up if you want to see more of these type of articles.

Cheers,

Ruby

 

Leave a Reply

