Stila’s Liquid Lipstick (review)

DISCLAIMER : I am not being sponsored by Stila Cosmetics for this review. I bought the product myself to try it out.

Alright, so I have recently decided I wanted to get some neutral mate lipstick. You know, something that I could wear everyday and such. Something that would look nice yet nothing too flashy. With this idea in mind, I decided to go Shoppers Drug mart because it was on my way to and from school. I went straight for the beauty section and I was looking at lipsticks when an employee approached me asking if she could help me. So I explained to her what I was looking for and she referred me to another employee who then i turn asked me if I’d ever thought of getting a liquid lipstick. I answered with “No, I’ve never tried it”.

Now, keep in mind I’m am far from being a make-up expert. I’ve honestly only started wearing make up recently, as in since Christmas time 2015. I will be taking a class to learn how to put on make-up and such, but that will not make me an expert either. I’m still learning what works and what doesn’t.

Tha being said, he showed me a few shades, putting them on my the back of my hand to show me the colors and such and I ended up picked two shades : Bellissima and Patina.

File_001

I really expected both colors to suit me very well and I left the store excited to try them on and happy with my purchase. I was unable to contain myself so I stop at the washroom and decided to put one of them on : Bellissima. and I found myself to be really dissapointed with the color on my lips. Looking in the mirror I just could help but notice my lips and look at it. My friend who had been accompagnying me told me it looked pretty great and such, but I just couldn’t believe her so I removed the lipstick immediately.

File_000(1)

I then moved on to the second color I got and tied that one on. I was relived when I saw what it looked like and that it suited me a lot better than the first color.

File_002

Colors aside, I liked the fact that I put on the shade Patina only once yesterday and it lasted until this morning. Although it didn’t necessarily look fresh – and by fresh i mean that i didn’t look like I had just put it on – ou could still see the color on my lips. All in all, I have since looked at the colors for the Stila products because I figured I might be able to find a better color, but I was unfortunately unsuccessful.

Overall, I now like the idea of the mate liquid lipstick and I love the fact that this produc didn’t make my lips feel dry and lasted a very long time, but I am a little bit disapointed that one of the colors I got didn’t suit me very well. For the price of this product, I have to say I had expected it to look a lot better. That does not mean it won’t suit anyone else, but I would suggest anyone of you to make sure of the color before you actually buy it.

If you have any suggestion of product that you would like me to try, please let me know in the comments and I will see what I can do.

Cheers,

Ruby

Leave a Reply

